Folk Music Organizer, Marathon Runner

Jess running the Harrisburg Half Marathon

Jess Hayden, the Susquehanna Folk Music Society’s Executive
Director is running the Harrisburg Marathon on Sunday, November 13, 2011 to
benefit the Susquehanna Folk Music Society.

Cheer Her On! Hang out with friends and watch for Jess along
the race route. The Harrisburg Marathon starts and finishes on City Island. In
between, the 26-mile course travels along the beautiful Susquehanna River, past
the state capital complex, through Wildwood Lake Park and the HACC campus, and
along the Harrisburg Greenbelt.

Sponsor Jess’s run
with a donation to Susquehanna Folk!
Online donations can be made at: http://www.sfmsfolk.org/events/Jess_marathon.html
or make a check out to “SFMS” and mail to Susquehanna Folk Music Society,
378 Old York Road, New Cumberland, PA 17070.

Here is a personal message from Jess Hayden:

“I like problem solving and facing challenges. My 25 year
involvement with the Susquehanna Folk Music Society, first as a board member,
then as a program coordinator and now as the Executive Director has given me
plenty of opportunities to do both. Our small organization, located in Central
Pennsylvania, puts on an amazing amount of events a year that explore folk
music and the traditional arts trough concerts, dances, workshops, jams and
art-in-education residencies. Plus, we’re always trying something new—interesting
partnerships with groups like the York County Convention and Visitors Bureau,
concerts in offbeat venues like York’s Agricultural and Industrial Museum and engagements
with high-energy artists such as Jeffery Broussard and the Creole Cowboys. I’m
proud of the vibrant, exciting series that we are able to produce year after
year and the benefit we have been to our community.

Last New Year’s Eve, like many people I made a resolution to
get into better shape. Always a planner, I spent a lot of time figuring out how
to do this by reading nutrition and exercise books. I learned to plan out my
meals and established a regular exercise schedule at Gold’s Gym. Progress was slow
until I saw a flyer advertising the formation of a local woman’s triathlon group.
I never actually joined the group, but the flyer had gotten me thinking about
the motivational power of having a goal. I set out learning what I could about triathlons
and actually participated in one last summer.  Like what I do in my professional life,
heaving a clear vision of where I was heading helped me to redouble my efforts and
focus on a workable plan.

Running the Harrisburg Marathon on November 13th
is the latest in a series of physical challenges I’ve put in front of myself
during the past year. I’m following Hal Higdon’s 18 week Marathon Training Plan
and so far have run over 350 miles. To me, it’s not too different from the work
of running a folk music organization. It takes hard work, endurance, good planning,
support from other people and belief in the importance of what I’m doing. That
and just putting one foot in front of the other…

By running this race I am putting two of the most important
parts of my life together; my interest in good health and physical fitness and
my love for folk music. Please consider contributing to the Susquehanna Folk
Music Society by sponsoring me for this run. It’s a wonderful organization
deserving of your dollars! ”

Leave a Reply

